The Best Of 2016 Pt4

Playing two wildly contrasting albums side by side can have a strange effect on your psyche. It can be a bit like stepping out into sunlight, that fuzzy vision you get for a couple of seconds whilst your eyes adjust. This is something I constantly search for, and it still excites me. As I sit at the computer, ‘Roller Coaster’ by ’13th Floor Elevators’ is shaking the room, and because I only listen to my mp3 library on shuffle I have no idea whats coming next. As the room starts to shake with ‘One Nation Under A Groove’ by ‘Funkadelic’ I do a silly dance and nod approvingly at my exquisite taste in music. So 2016 is being seen as year when shit went crazy, well maybe it did and maybe it didn’t who knows what the future holds all I know is that it had a great soundtrack.

Sutcliffe Jugend- Offal (Cold Spring) Vs Ten- Yokon Youth (Ten Recordings)

Sutcliffe Jugend make a huge industrial noise and Ten create musical soundscapes and although they maybe worlds apart musically they are bloody great albums. The Ten album only dropped towards the end of the year but wow it got under my skin and goes through to the next round.

Kandodo/Mcbain-Lost Chants (Creepy Crawl) Vs Dreamtime- Strange Pleasures (Cardinal Fuzz)

The highly anticipated new album by Dreamtime didn’t disappoint, it carries on where the last album left off but somehow sound tighter and crisper. I was a bit late to the Kandodo/Mcbain party and after reading all the reviews I was wondering if would live to the praise that was being heaped on it, it did and then some. Kandodo/Mcbain go through.

Broken DC- Astragal (God Unknown) Vs Juju – S/T (Sunrise Ocean Bender)

I know a lot of my friends in the psych community have been absolutely bowled over by the Juju album as have I its an incredible piece of work. The Broken DC album was bought on the strength of a You Tube clip and has never been far the turntable since. Broken DC win!

One Dog Clapping- Adventures In Entropy House (self release) Vs  Peter J Smyth- Black Smoke (God Unknown)

I have been a fan of One Dog Clapping since day one. As always the songs take some expected twist and turns. The Peter J Smyth album gets played a lot in this house, probably because it’s one of the few albums that doesn’t get called a “bleeding racket” by Mrs W. It’s a far cry from his day job with Mugstar but its still a great album and for that reason it win this round.

Gnod-Mirror (Rocket Recordings) Vs Big Naturals /Anthroprophh-S/T (Cardinal Fuzz/Capture Records)

Crikey, how does one choose between two massive albums. I played both these albums back to back twice the other day but there really is nothing in it. In the end I chose Gnod but this really was the hardest choice to make.

Colossloth-  Outstretch Your Hand For The Impress Of Truth (Cold Spring) Vs Menimals- S/T (Riot Season)

The sound of Colossloth is not always a comfortable listen but it is always a worthwhile listen, throwing up surprises that keep you going back for more. It is however, Menimals that take this round with this unnerving and brilliant album.

Kikagaku Moyo- House In The Tall Grass (Guruguru Brain) Vs Kuro- S/T (Rocket Recordings)

I have been told on good authority that Kikagaku Moyo are one of the most exciting live bands around at the moment, certainly their recorded output points in that direction. This album has been one of the highlights of the year. The Kuro album is a startling piece of work and needs, no demands to be heard. Kuro win.

Nudity-Is God’s Creation (Cardinal Fuzz) Vs Mugstar- Magnetic Sessions (Rock Action)

Mugstar have proved over and over again that they are not a band who rest on their laurels, they seem absolutely fearless in willingness to try something different both within the band and with their other projects. I was so made up when I heard that Cardinal Fuzz were putting out this album. Having been a fan since Julian Cope wrote about them some years ago, I was made up to see so many people catching on to them. A win for Nudity.

So there you have it, I’m off to find an inventive way to draw the quarter final.

 

 

Leave a Reply

